

CMS



## CONVENTION ON MIGRATORY SPECIES

Distribution: General UNEP/CMS/COP12/Doc.11.1 05 July 2017

Original: English

12<sup>th</sup> MEETING OF THE CONFERENCE OF THE PARTIES Manila, Philippines, 23 - 28 October 2017 Agenda Item 11.1

## **REPORT OF DEPOSITARY**

(Prepared by the Federal Republic of Germany)

Summary:

Attached is the Report of the Depositary, which covers the triennium 2015-2017 up to 3 July 2017. The report is presented by the Secretariat unedited in the language in which it was received (English) from the Federal Republic of Germany.

## Report of the Depositary for the triennium 2015-2017

The Depositary of the Convention, the German Federal Foreign Office, has the honour to submit this report to the Parties and Signatory States to the Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (CMS).

Since the last Conference of the Parties, four more countries have acceded to the Convention. The Convention enters into force for the acceding country on the first day of the third month after the country has deposited its instrument of accession to the Convention with the Depositary. The Governments of the following countries have notified the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany as the Depositary of their accession to the Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals with effect from the following dates:

The Islamic Republic of Afghanistan 1 August 2015

The Federative Republic of Brazil	1 October 2015
The United Arab Emirates	1 May 2016
The Republic of Iraq	1 August 2016

As of 3 July 2017, the Parties to the Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals number 124 (123 member States and the European Union).

With its Note Verbale of 13 January 2015 to the Federal Republic of Germany, in its capacity as Depositary, Australia made a reservation with respect to the inclusion of the following species in Appendix II to the Convention: *Alopias superciliosus* (Bigeye Thresher Shark), *Alopias vulpinus* (Common Thresher Shark), *Alopias pelagicus* (Pelagic Thresher Shark), *Sphyrna lewini* (Scalloped Hammerhead Shark) and *Sphyrna mokarran* (Great Hammerhead Shark). Pursuant to Article XI, paragraph 6 of the Convention, the inclusion of the abovenamed species, adopted on 9 November 2014 on the occasion of the Eleventh Conference of the Parties, shall not enter into force for Australia.

With its Note Verbale of 17 February 2017, the Czech Republic informed the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany, as Depositary in accordance with Article XX of the Convention, of the withdrawal of its reservations to Appendices I/II. The withdrawal of the reservations made by the Czech Republic became effective as of midnight on 22 May 2017.

Germany's activities to encourage more countries to become Parties to the CMS during the triennium 2015–2017 were as follows:

In addition to the efforts by the CMS Secretariat to this end, the German Federal Foreign Office instructed German embassies to offer their respective host countries, wishing to become Parties, support and assistance in making the necessary arrangements for accession.

The Dominican Republic is currently making arrangements to become a Party to the CMS.